Isometric illustration of downtown Thurmont

Chapel House

Contemporary images captured October 2026 by Catapult Image Virtual Spaces

The first Episcopal Church in Thurmont made its appearance around 1887. Although there was no church building at that time, services were held in a room above Mr. Frederick White’s office. Mr. White lived next to the Belva Birely property on West Main Street. In 1889, Episcopal services were conducted on the first floor of the I. O. O. F. lodge building on East Main Street. In 1891 Episcopalians living in Thurmont felt the need for a church building.  Generous friends from all over the country contributed as well as those in the area.  On March 1, 1892, Reverend Richard Whittington, as trustee, had purchased the vacant lot now known as 117 E. Main Street for the sum of $200; and, later that same year St. Stephen’s Church was built in a neo-Gothic style with vertical board and batten siding. Reverend Whittington had purchased the lot from Ida and Joseph Weddle, who had previously acquired the land in 1881 from Henry and Catherine Rouzer. Construction costs totaled $1,350. The Rev. Richard Whittingham deeded the land on which St. Stephen’s was built to the Vestry of Catoctin Parish of Frederick County on September 24, 1895; Bishop William Paret visited St. Stephen’s Chapel on that same date and consecrated the chapel.

Black and white photo of white chapel

Photo Credit: “The Robert S. Kinnaird Collection of Historic Photographs”

Harriet McPherson, who later became Mrs. William McPherson McGill, spent many hours in writing to her friends, telling them of the proposed St. Stephen’s church building in Thurmont. Mrs. McGill raised funds for several memorial stained glass windows originally installed in the church building. St. Stephens Church was one of three episcopal churches that made up the Catoctin Parish, the other two being St. John’s in Walkersville and Harriet Chapel in Catoctin Furnace. In 1896, Reverend Ernest McGill was assigned by the Bishop to Catoctin Parish; Reverence McGill labored faithfully between the three mission churches. Reverend McGill and his family lived at Auburn and traveled between the missions by horse and buggy. A rectory for St. Stephen’s Church was built in 1910 and in 1956 a Church school was operated jointly by St. Stephen’s Church and Harriet Chapel; the Walkersville church had been closed and sold years earlier.

Black and white photo of white chapel

Photo Credit: “The Robert S. Kinnaird Collection of Historic Photographs”

St. Stephens remained an active parish until November 1st, 1967 when St. Stephen’s held its last service, conducted by Bishop Harry Lee Doll.  Due to declining attendance and the costs of maintenance and required repairs, the St. Stephen’s congregation was merged with Harriet Chapel located at 12625 Catoctin Furnace Road. The Vestry sold the church building to Herman and Joan Brust in 1969 (reserving the right to remove certain stained glass windows).  The memorial windows were removed and installed in the Harriet Chapel. The former church building was converted to a residence. The Brusts sold the property to J. Stephen Newmann and C. Carol Newmann in 1972. The Newmann’s converted the former church building into their principal residence and for a period of time operated a craft shop in the building. The Newmann’s sold the property to Darlene D. Moxley in 1999. As of the date of this document, Darlene Moxley remains the owner of 117 E. Main Street and according to the records of the Maryland State Department of Assessments and Taxation the building is her principal residence.

Written by Shaun F. Carrick and John Treml